Don’t Adapt-Be You ALL the Time

Adapt.  Accommodate.  Be flexible.  Be open to change.  Evolve.  Those words seem to be the mantra of our day.  Yet those words only promote the company, the cause, the agency.  Those words lead to compromise, the kind of compromise that leads us to define ourselves by our actions, what we do, instead of who we are.  The TRUTH is that in order to live with, lead with integrity we must know our core values and then we must unapologetic-ally stand by those values.  There is nothing gained when I refuse to live the truth and love in truth.  I am who I am and in standing by my core values and being consistent, others can know me more authentically, I am able to make better decisions.

There are lines in the sand.  If I believe that TRUTH matters, and not only seek to follow His TRUTH, but hold TRUTH as a value, I will not lie or “spin” something in order to hide the facts.  Could the value cost me position?  Yes.   But will the TRUTH cost me my identity?  No.

Sadly, I have been the chameleon.  I have adapted and accommodated.  More often than not I have simply turned a blind eye or held my tongue.  Sadly I see too many chameleons – at work, in church, in acquaintanceship.  Fortunately, I have chosen not to be the chameleon more often.  As I have had the privilege of entering this second season career I have been committed to doing it better, being authentic, being braver.   I have chosen to know my values, my TRUTH.  I have chosen to lead in TRUTH and I have challenged our team to set values, one of which is TRUTH.  There is no value in blending in.  Being true to my TRUTH sets me apart, but it doesn’t mean I’m disruptive or unyielding.  It simply means I bring myself, my talents, my gifts, my strengths to influence.  It means I am known, truly known.

Canva - Green Chameleon on Green Leaved Tree

My TRUTH is centered on God’s Word and is a reflection of my faith.  My TRUTH remains the same whether I am at home with my family, at work leading, serving in my community or participating in worship at my church.  My TRUTH centers me, it gives me a true north by which to assess information, make decisions.  My TRUTH sets me apart and sets me up for success.  My TRUTH protects me.

As you join me in the pursuit of TRUTH, challenge yourself to be you ALL THE TIME.  Know your TRUTH.  If you feel lost, I encourage you to search scripture for TRUTH, don’t try to navigate this life without an anchor and a rudder.  It is not all relative.  Every thought, every word, every action matters, and it matters most to you, to the you, you are becoming.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment